About Us

Mission Statement

It is the mission of the Ashby Free Public Library to provide free and equal access to meet the informational, educational, and cultural needs of the community in order to support lifelong learning.

Our Team

Heather Brodie Perry, M.L.S., Ph.D. she/her
Library Director

Jen Washington
Children’s Librarian / Library Assistant

Sandra Schippers, Library Assistant

Kierstyn Snow, Library Assistant

  • James Porter, Library Page

Board of Trustees

According to the bylaws, there are nine members of the Board of Trustees:

  • Roberta Flashman, Chair
  • Claire Lavin, Vice Chair
  • Jane Pankosky
  • Dwight Horan, Scholarship Committee
  • Lynne Carpenito, Treasurer
  • Joseph Cantor
  • Christina Ewald
  • Geraldine Zagarella

Regular Board of Trustees meetings are usually held on the fourth Wednesday of each month. The public is welcome to attend our regular board meetings.

If you would like additional information, please email them at AFPL.trustees@gmail.com


Our volunteers do a lot to keep the library afloat! They help with shelving, cleaning, processing books, and just making the library a friendly place to be!

  • Vicky Mickola
  • Lynne Carpenito
  • Hannelore Colasanto
  • Sandra Schippers
  • Sothy Young
  • Barry Buck
  • Abbie Huse
  • Jeanie Lindquist
  • Rita Poland

Everyone over the age of 13 is welcome to (and encouraged to ) help! The library works best when many people participate.


The library has created policies to ensure the smooth operation of the facility and the availability of materials for all members of the community. The library strives to collect for the wide variety of voices reflected in our community.